jimstimes

Sailing my Paradox and country living

Drifting up thge Dart

6 Comments

Today has been a complete contrast after yesterday.  No more fast sailing, as there’s hardly any wind in the river, which is surrounded with steep wooded hills to keep the breeze  away.

This morning I left my overnight anchorage, not far from the town of Dartmouth, at low water and allowed the flooding tide and what little wind there was to take me up stream to Totnes.   A slow journey of perhaps 5 miles or so.  A few desultory strokes with the sculling oar served to keep me in mid channel where I could make the best of the tide and just occasionally  a few little puffs from here and there filled the sail for a few moments to help me on my way

IMG_0001.JPG

IMG_0002.JPG

The river so placid.

 

IMG_0003.JPG

IMG_0004.JPG

This family of ducks watched me drift past.

I eventually anchored in this muddy little cove. As snug a berth as anyone could want and out of the way of any other traffic, although there’s hardly any.

That will do for today. Tea time now.

IMG_0006.JPG

IMG_0007.JPG

6 thoughts on “Drifting up thge Dart

  1. HI Jim,
    Reading this and looking at the beautiful mood created by your images and am thinking of that adage:”heaven on a stick”.
    Sure, no wind, but serene and peaceful I’ll bet. Good luck to you.
    Thanks Terry

    Like

    • Hello Terry. Thanks for your comment. The mood is different again today with rain and a squally wind.
      I got wet as I returned down river this morning. Don’t believe all that you read about the Paradox keeping the inmate warm and dry at all times.. From inside, you can’t keep a good look-out, as the windows immediately get steamed up and force me to sit with my head sticking out in the rain to see where I’m going…
      Tomorrow I have4 to be going home., so that’s the end of cruising for a few weeks, sadly.

      I’ve just discovered your blog at http://folkboat-bohemian.blogspot.co.uk/ and like it lots.

      Jim

      Like

      • HI Jim,
        Enjoying your blog. Funny with the fogging Windows, all sailboats have their foibles. I was building a Paradox, but got impatient to be sailing and bought a beat up Folkboat. Now I travel to the mooring to work on it, but do get out a bit. I do hope to get back to the Paradox build though, I think there are none better boats on cost, practical, portability, shoal draft and so on for a small crew. Thanks Terry

        Liked by 1 person

      • The steamed up windows happen when there is falling rain and overnight. although I have the vents open at the stern and at the front of the cabin. I must be a heavy breather
        I’ve always rated the folkboat as a super sailing machine and good looking too, although less convenient than a small flat bottomed boat.
        Jim

        Like

  2. HI Jim,
    Thanks. Folkboat = “less convenient”. Here here, having to haul out to repair stuff below the waterline, lack of shoal draft, yep you got me.
    I meant to say, when I get back to my Paradox build I was thinking about restyling the deck house to improve ventilation. Basically to have a large overhang on the “roof” and have Windows sloping intersects the top like the front Windows on a trawler. Windows hinging inwards at their base. So you can have all windows open in rain without water getting in, unless its driving rain. I don’t know the Paradox in real life, but it’s an idea I have.

    Thanks Terry

    Like

    • The front and side windows take loads of spray when the wind is lively and any opening window would be tending to leak…. and inward opening would consume precious space inside the cabin.
      I’ve thought of making a pram hood to go over the hatchway – so that it can be left open at night, but haven’t been able to work out how to avoid it interfering with other things when not in use..
      Some builders have made the rear window opening and that seems to work out OK.
      Jim

      Like

Leave a Reply

