jimstimes

Sailing my Paradox and country living

More recent sailing Part 1

Leave a comment

12 days aboard this time and the winds were generally calm or very  light . Not at all like the last trip when I spent several days sheltering from gales….What difference a few weeks makes.

I set off on the Thursday morning just before the Bank Holiday week-end to trail  the boat the hundred miles from home to the R Dart to launch in Galmpton Creek.

First I called at a public weighbridge to get an up-to date weight for the car and loaded trailer as I’m keen to ensure that all is within the permitted legal weight limit for my old car. The last thing I want is to be pulled by the cops while driving and get done for being overweight.   (I don’t mean me personally – although I admit to that. ….)

Maximum permitted for my car 2270 kgs. Weighbridge ticket says 2150kg, so I’m well inside the limit, although the boat is fully loaded with stores and water for a few weeks without having to replenish anything. Much relief, as before the weighbridge visit I wasn’t sure.

resized_september trip 2015 002

When I arrived at Galmpton the tide was out but I launched onto the dry slipway which is easy to do with my trailer set-up.

resized_september trip 2015 001

Arrival

resized_september trip 2015 003

Boat sliding off

resized_september trip 2015 004

Nearly clear. just drive forwards a few feet.

resized_september trip 2015 005

Launched onto concrete with no bother. Easy as 123. Just have to wait for the tide.

When I floated off there was a fair bit of west wind, which made getting away from the slipway tricky. Sailed up river to the entrance of Bow creek for my first overnight at anchor..

During the evening there were some little steam boats chugging down the creek, returning from the pub The must have been a steam boat rally there that day.

resized_september trip 2015 006 resized_september trip 2015 011

Nice little boats and about the same size as a Paradox. I wonder if there are any paddle steamers in this size range?

Next day there was hardly any wind so waited until the tide was ebbing before moving to Old Mill Creek nearer to the River mouth.  I sculled the boat along for a good bit until my arm was getting tired then used the engine intermittently with drifting along under sail in between. Slow progress. I wanted to be nearer the open sea for the next overnight as the following day I intended to sail for Plymouth and wanted to make an early start.

resized_september trip 2015 014

Not much wind

resized_september trip 2015 015

Old Mill Creek, my destination for that night.

On leaving Dartmouth the next morning, early, before many boats were out and about.  It was Dartmouth Regatta week-end so most were dressed up in their best bunting

resized_september trip 2015 019

resized_september trip 2015 018

resized_september trip 2015 022

resized_september trip 2015 024

resized_september trip 2015 025

That day’s weather forecast was for a N f4 or f5, I thought ideal for the 30 mile trip to Plymouth along the South Coast and I set off hopefully and looking forward to a good brisk sail, .but alas the forecast wind never happened. It was mostly flat calm with the occasional little zephyr from hither and thither.. Very disappointing. How can the weather men get it so wrong?  Used the engine nearly all the way, burning 3 litres of petrol..

resized_september trip 2015 026

resized_september trip 2015 027

The sea like glass on the way to Plymouth. No wind at all..

Eventually arrived in Plymouth Sound and anchored under the high cliffs in Jennycliffe Bay. The evening forecast on the BBC gave NE 4 /5 and 6 for ‘later’ but this too proved to be a false dawn, as what wind there was the next day was SE and light.

resized_september trip 2015 028

At Anchor in Jennycliffe Bay

resized_september trip 2015 029

resized_september trip 2015 030

My nearest neighbour at Jennicliffe

resized_september trip 2015 031

Sunset from Jennicliffe

The next day I intended to sail up the R Tamar to Cargreen where I intended to meet up with Geoff, a mate, who keeps his boat there and next day for us both to sail to Mevagissey on his boat while my little boat was to remain on his mooring while we were away.

So that next day made a side trip to Cawsand  while waiting for the flood tide to whisk me up the river for my meeting with Geoff.

resized_september trip 2015 032

Passing on the way this old fort where the gun casements have been converted into apartments. Sailed through the gap in The Bridge at  the first of the flood – which by- the -way isn’t really a bridge at all – just a gap in an old underwater defensive barrier. Very confusing for non natives and sorry about that.

resized_september trip 2015 034

Passing through the Bridge at the first of the flood. Tidal range was more than 5 metres then.

resized_september trip 2015 035

Under the bridges going up the Tamar.  . Real bridges this time. The rail bridge furthest from the camera was designed by Brunel 150 years ago. The suspension bridge  was built more recently and carries road traffic.

So sailed slowly onwards up the river with the tide assisting and going just fast enough through the water to have steerage way until arriving at Geoff’s mooring at Cargreen. ijn time for a beer at his sailing club.

More later

Leave a Reply

